e-mail, e-Marketing… EGADS!

February 21, 2008

I am slowly beginning to dread the sound of my “email alert”.

Dread you say?  Oui Oui mon frer.

I have always been interested in how others choose to market their
products and opportunities.  In the beginning I read every e-mail I
received.  Foolish?  Perhaps.  I felt it was better to learn what to do
as well as what not to do when creating my promotional marketing
pieces.  After all, I am keenly aware that the person on the other
side of the screen who’s receiving my e-mail, doesn’t know me from
a hill of beans and couldn’t care less what I’m selling.

Psssst, they’re too busy selling their own stuff.

Let’s face it, most of us have a “system” that helps us send out mass
e-mails to contacts, (if you don’t, contact me I’ve got a few suggestions
to help you choose what would be best for you), but hey, if you don’t
have the time or gumption to write an original letter about your business
opportunity why would I choose to join your affiliate program, your new
business opportunity or take the time to opt in to your newsletter?

In other words, what are you saying by what you send out in your emails?

People wonder why they don’t succeed in their attempt at creating a home
based business on the Internet.  Many times it’s right here, in the beginning. They are not treating it like a business.

Imagine yourself walking into someone’s office, let’s say it’s a cold call or
your very first appointment with them.  Would you walk in, drop off a piece
of literature and say “buy this stuff “ and walk out?  How many sales would
you make that way?  A big fat goose egg! Nada, Zilch, yes folks, Zero sales.

But, I see it every day in my e-mail box, e-Marketers saying “hey, check out
my site … oh, and join!”  What aren’t they doing here?  EVERYTHING.

Basic selling skills 101: Introduce yourself.  Start building a relationship.
When writing your copy for your emails, write them in a sequence, a building up of the opportunity.  This way people get to see who you are, what you are about, why you feel strongly about your product, that your passionate about it and why it’s a good business opportunity for them.

You can splash your url for your biz-op all over the place… I wont be clicking it unless you can tell me why you think it’s a great business opportunity for me to invest my money in.  Oh and another thing, just because it’s free, doesn’t make it a good choice.  No opportunity is free forever.  If it is, how would anyone get paid!

One last thing in this rant before I go, article and letter builders; how many of you receive e-mails Marketing and selling something and it is identical to
someone else’s?  I mean identical down to the subject header !!!??  Come on folks, remember I said original content here.  I’m not going to read Joe’s, Mary’s and Tom’s if they are the same letter.  I got it once, I don’t need it 10 times!

Good copy is hard work, it takes time and effort.  But the only key to success in e-mail marketing, is to get the person to open your marketing piece and read it.  It’s your first impression, your opportunity to succeed or fail is right there.  So please, treat it that way.

Corie Wallace, EzineArticles.com Basic Author

Corie Wallace is located in Boston, Massachusetts
You can reach her by contacting:
email: cwallace.1000@gmail.com
skype: corie.wallace

Leave a Reply

